1. Muladhara (Root Chakra)
Setu Bandha Sarvangasana (Bridge Pose)

This chakra located at the base of the spine is the force that keeps us connected to this Earth and is the base of our existence. It is associated with the feeling of groundedness. The backbend asana called theSetu Bandha Sarvangasana or Bridge pose which requires your feet to be firmly grounded while the spine raised, opens up and focuses energy to this root chakra.

Description: Setu Bandha Sarvangasana -Bridge Pose

§  Lying flat on your back, hands palm down by your sides, bend your knees and bring your feet close to your bottom making sure your feet are parallel on the yoga mat.

§  Pressing your feet firmly against the ground, lift your hips up towards the ceiling.

§  Interlace your fingers under you, straighten your arms and press them down on the to mat to raise your back and chest higher.

§  Roll your shoulders and draw your chest towards your chin.

§  Stay and breath

§  Release the pose, by releasing your hands back into the palm down position beside you, then bringing the your upper, middle then lower back and hips down. Knees are still bent

§  Allow your knees to touch and rest

See a specially designed Red Chakra T-shirt with Rhinestone  ‘lam’ symbol dedicated to the Root Chakraat Yogacarashop.com

2. Svadisthana (Sacral Chakra)
Bhujangasana (Cobra Pose)

The second chakra known as the sacral chakra is your sensing power station, connecting you to your feeling sensitivities or your inner child. It is situated in lower abdomen and womb area. Bhujangasana or the cobra pose emphasis that region and helps open up this second chakra.

Description: Bhujangasana - Cobra Pose

§  Lie flat on your stomach, palms face down on either sides just under your shoulders, elbows touching your body.

§  Without using your hands for support, start lifting – forehead, nose, chin, shoulders and chest up as much as you can using your back muscles.

§  Once you reach a point where you can’t go up higher, press your palms down on the floor and using your arm support slide your chest forward and higher. Your elbows should be touching your sides and not away from your body.

§  Make sure the pelvic bone and your legs are not raised but firmly touching the ground

§  Roll your shoulders back, opening the chest further, look upwards without cranking your neck and breathe

§  To release the pose, using your arms support lower your body back down, face down and rest with your hands besides your shoulders.

See a specially designed Orange Chakra T-shirt with Rhinestone  ‘vam symbol dedicated to the Sacral Chakra at Yogacarashop.com

3. Manipura (Solar Plexus Chakra)
Dhanurasana (Bow Pose)

The Manipura chakra located in the area of the navel is associated with Will and Power. Dhanurasana or the bow pose is a great way of energizing this chakra as it works the region of the body where the pancreas, adrenal gland and digestive system is located.

Description: Dhanurasana - Bow Pose

§  Lie flat on your stomach, arms stretched out by your sides.

§  Reaching your arms back, take a hole of your ankles and breathe  normally.

§  On an inhalation, lift your legs up from the thighs and your torso will raise too. Try not using your arms to pull you legs.

§  Lift your torso higher, opening up your chest and breathe deeply while holding the pose.

§  To release- lower your thighs until they are touching the floor and let go of your ankle to rest.

See a specially designed Yellow Chakra T-shirt with Rhinestone  ‘ram’ symbol dedicated to the Solar Plexus Chakra at Yogacarashop.com

4. Anahata (Heart Chakra)
Ustrasana (Camel Pose)

The heart chakra is the power house of the human energy system and the center of love and healing. It is also your link between body and spirit. The Camel pose or Ustrasana, raises your chest towards the sun and is excellent for opening this chakra.

Description: Ustrasana - Camel Pose

§  Start from a kneeling position

§  Extend your arms behind you and as you open up your chest looking up and then backwards

§  One at a time, take a hold of your heels while keeping your hips pushed forward so they are inline with your knees.

§  Let you head fall back and open your throat, your chest towards the sky and breathe.

§  To release, bring your head up and let go of your heels one by one coming forward until you are back in a kneeling position.

§  Rest in vajrasana sitting on your heels.

See a specially designed Green Chakra T-shirt with Rhinestone  ‘yam’ symbol dedicated to the Heart Chakra at Yogacarashop.com

5. Visuddha (Throat Chakra)
Matsyasana (Fish Pose)

The Blue throat chakra is the center of our communication and rules the neck region including the thyroid, throat, trachea, neck vertebrae and mouth. It is also associated with the shoulders, arms, and hands, there fore Matsyasana or the fish pose is a good posture to open up and call attention to the neck and throat region.

Description: Matsyasana - Fish Pose

§  Lie on your back arms by your sides and slowly come up onto your elbows.

§  Positioning your arms under your back as close together as possible, palms pressing down on the floor near or even under your buttock, with your weight on your elbows, lower your body back
while puffing your chest.

§  Looking backwards drop the crown of your head onto the floor and open up your throat.

§  Hold and breathe, pressing your forearms and elbows to raise and open your chest up further.

§  To release, push up on your forearms and elbows to raise your head off the floor. Then gently lower your body and head to a sleeping position.

See a specially designed Blue Chakra T-shirt with Rhinestone  ‘ham’ symbol dedicated to the Throat Chakra at Yogacarashop.com

6. Ajna (Third Eye/Brow Chakra)
Seated Yoga Mudra

The third-eye chakra located in our forehead, between the eyes is the key to our wisdom, learning and putting things in perspective. This seated mudra helps open up the tird eye and stimulates the brow chakra.

§  Start in Vajrasana (sitting on your heels) back straight.

§  take your hands behind you and interlace your fingers pulling your arms down and your chest up to straighten your spine further. Roll back and squeeze your shoulder blades together, opening up your chest.

§  Now bend forward from your hips keeping your bottom firmly seated your arms still locked behind you. Allow your back to round over your knees and put your forehead (third eye) to the ground.

§  Slowly raise your arms up behind you so your hands are reaching towards the ceiling, shoulders still rolled back and arms straight.

§  Hold this position and breathe

§  To release, lower your arms back down to your behind and slowly raise your body back to the seated position.

See a specially designed Red Chakra T-shirt with Rhinestone  ‘lam’ symbol dedicated to the Root Chakraat Yogacarashop.com

7. Sahasrara (Crown Chakra)
Continued from Seated Yoga Mudra (6th Chakra Pose)

The Crown Chakra is our connection to our spiritual nature and rules the entire connects to the central nervous system. Meditation in full or half lotus or even the headstand pose called Salamba Sirsasana helps stimulate the crown chakra. However from the seated mudra pose explained in the 6th chakra you may continue the following steps that focus on the 7th chakra – the crown chakra.

§  Before releasing the your arms down from the last pose, from the same postion lift your buttocks up off your heels to come onto your knees.

§  Roll your head from the forehead to come on the crown of your head, continue to keep your arms overhead and stretched.

§  Focus on the crown of your head as you hold the pose and breathe.

§  To release, come back to you forehead and lower your bottom back to your heels in a seated position and release in the same way explained in the 6th chakra posture.